IAF Logo
News Details

Greater Recognition for Accreditation

19 Oct 2017

The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), a new trade agreement between twelve Pacific Rim countries, was released November 5th 2015.

Source: UKAS


The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) is a trade agreement, released on November 5th 2015, between twelve Pacific Rim countries. The agreement’s goals are to promote economic growth; support the creation and retention of jobs; enhance innovation, productivity and competitiveness; raise living standards; and promote transparency, good governance, and enhanced labour and environmental protections.


Accreditation, recognised by existing regional and international mutual recognition Arrangements (the ILAC MRA and IAF MLA) is referenced as being as a key measure to support trade through the removal of technical barriers.


  • The twelve Pacific-Rim countries include New Zealand, Mexico, Australia, Brunei, Chile, Singapore, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Peru, Vietnam and the USA.


Click to access the agreement’s table of contents:
Access the chapter that refers to Technical Barriers to Trade: