IAF Logo
Expanding the scope of the IAF MLA

Expanding the scope of the IAF MLA

The IAF MLA is reviewed on an on-going basis to better serve the needs of stakeholders. A number of evaluations of private sector schemes to become IAF MLA sub-scopes were in progress in 2021, and Foundation FSSC’s FSSC 22000 certification scheme was endorsed on 12 March 2021.

FSSC 22000 outlines requirements for the audit and certification of food safety management systems (FSMS) or FSMS and quality management systems (QMS) for organizations in the food supply chain. Based on ISO/IEC 17021-1 and ISO/TS 22003, it provides the standard and framework for independent, recognized third party management system certification of animal farming, food, feed, biochemicals and packaging (materials) manufacturing, transport and storage, catering and retail/wholesale organizations. FSSC 22000 has been benchmarked and recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative since 2010.

The RAGs extended their scopes to broaden the reach and value of the IAF MLA, and also to address the needs of their regional members. Regional developments that took place in 2021 include:

In May 2021, EA applied to IAF to be recognised for the IAF MLA sub-scope FSSC 22000. 19 ABs were eligible for recognition after IAF accepted EA’s recognition in July 2021. The next re-evaluation of EA by IAF/ILAC is scheduled to begin no later than July 2022.

APAC added the following scopes and sub-scopes to the APAC MRA in 2021: Biobanking, Anti-Bribery Management Systems (ABMS), Business Continuity Management Systems (BCMS), Food Safety System Certification (FSSC 22000), Validation and Verification, and Validation and Verification of Environmental Information.

IAAC is working to expand its MLA to FSSC 22000.

ARAC currently operates in the following MLA scopes: Quality Management Systems (QMS), Environmental Management Systems (EMS), Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS), and Product and Personnel Certification

  • In 2021, AFRAC underwent a re-evaluation by IAF, which included an extension of scope evaluation for the scopes of Product Certification and Persons Certification.
  • In 2021, AFRAC received proposals to extend its MRA to include the Management System sub-scopes of:
    1. ISO 21001:2018 – Educational organizations – Management systems for educational organizations
    2. ISO 13485: 2016 – Medical devices – Quality management systems
    3. ISO/TS 22003:2013 – Food safety management systems
    4. ISO 28001:2007 – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of supply chain security management systems
  • AFRAC has applied to IAF to increase its scope to include Product Certification and Certification of Persons.

SADCA has not yet undergone any activities to extend its scope at this stage.